GFA Boss Wants Ghana League To Be Won By Different Clubs Every Year

Ghana Football Assciation President Kwasi Nyantakyi is desiring that the Ghana league is won by different clubs in different geographical locations across the nation every other year. The Ghana premier league trophy has changed hands between just four clubs in the last 16 years with only Aduana Stars and Berekum Chelsea breaking into the Kotoko Hearts of Oak duopoly. Obuasi Goldfields, now AshantiGold are the only other side to have won the league aside the aforementioned four in the last 34 years but the GFA president says the trend does not auger well for the image and competitiveness of the league. "Lets say in Accra this year then the next time I expect the winner to come from the north and then the middle belt and the coastal regions and so on and so forth". Nyantakyi told reporters at the unveiling of the First Capital Plus Bank Ghana Premier League trophy. "That will be the beauty of the game". Asante Kotoko are close to annexing their third trophy in a row as they lead the Ghana league pack with 46 points, an 11 point gap ahead of second placed Hearts of Oak.