The 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA) + Full List Of The Winners

Last night in South Africa, the Durban�s International Conference Centre witnessed great performances from some of Africa�s most talented artistes including-Sarkodie,Tiwa Savage, Fally Ipupa, Michael Lowman, Don Jazzy, DJ Clock, Beatenberg, DJ Kent, Big Nuz, Toofan, D�Banj, Davido and several others as part of activities for the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA). Apart from the tall list of performances, various musical artistes on the African continent were awarded for their excellent works and creativity�as music made in Africa was celebrated. From Ghana, Sarkodie made us proud by winning the Best Hip Hop artiste of the year award�The event was put together by MTV and Zulu-Natal Province. Other highlights of the evening included a moving acoustic guitar tribute to the late, great Nelson Mandela by Afro-Soul star Simphiwe Dana, who performed in front of a giant timelapse video art work by Transform Today nominee and street artist Rasty, while Ladysmith Black Mambazo brought the house to its feet with their unexpected mash up �Acappello� and �Y-tjukutja�. Marlon Wayans, the host highlighted the plight of the kidnapped Nigerian schoolgirls. Legendary stand-up comic, film and television sensation Marlon Wayans hosted MAMA 2014 with his trademark humour, making a triumphant entrance on a blinged-up rickshaw and engaging the audience with his easy charm. Celebrity guests attending the event included Khloe Kardashian, French Montana, D�Banj, Nomzamo Mbatha, Goldfish, DJ Fresh, John Vlismas, Kajal Bagwandeen, Emmanuel Adebayo, Minnie Dlamini, Sizwe Dhlomo, Dorcas Shola Fapson, DJ C�ndo, Efya, Omotola and Riaad Moosa. Check below for highlights from the event + the full list of the winners Full list of the winners-2014 MTV Africa Music Awards Best Male: Davido (Nigeria) Best Female: Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) Best Group: Mafikizolo (South Africa) Best New Act: Stanley Enow (Cameroon) Best Live Act: Flavour (Nigeria) Best Collaboration: �Y-tjukutja� � Uhuru Ft. Oskido, DJ Bucks, Professor and Yuri Da Cunha (South Africa/Angola) Best Hip Hop: Sarkodie (Ghana) Best Alternative: Gangs of Ballet (South Africa) Best Francophone: Toofan (Togo) Best Lusophone: Anselmo Ralph (Angola) Artist of the Year: Davido (Nigeria) Song of the Year: �Khona� � Mafikizolo ft Uhuru (South Africa) Best Video: Clarence Peters (Nigeria) Best Pop: Goldfish (South Africa) Best International: Pharrell Personality of the Year: Lupita Nyong�o (Kenya) MTV Base Leadership Award: Ashish J. Thakkar (Tanzania) Transform Today Award by Absolut: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)